Fundraiser Recep!!

13 Mar

My and Jake’s fundraiser party was not only a ton of fun, but a great fundraising success! We’re both much closer to our fundraising goals than before, and it was absolutely amazing the friends who came to support us and how generous they were with their financial contributions. A very informal THANK YOU to everyone who came… formal thank-yous are coming in the mail shortly!

Tom, one of my coworkers, is also a very talented photographer, and his donation to us was his photography for the evening. How amazing is that?!

Karen and Alaina were amazing helpers with the raffle prize process. They’re inspirations themselves – double digit weight losses for each of them, and half marathon runners. Go Alaina and Karen!

Karen & Alaina

For the raffle, we ended up giving everyone 1 ticket for every $5 they donated, where they then got to choose where to place their ticket(s). We had so, so many great raffle prizes, and I swear I didn’t rig the raffle drawing, even though most of my close friends won at least one of the raffle prizes… including my mom and Steph, who both agreed bring me along to their tasting dinners. Woohoo!!

The food was so, so good. Everyone was raving about it, especially the cornbread (per usual!). Brian also prepared these really delicious fig and cheese crostinis… “off menu” specials just for Jake and I. Thanks again, Brian!

The funniest part of the night was certainly Steph’s horn helmet that she got with the beer crawl tickets she won. The best part was when we discovered the horns LIT UP. Woohoo!

Pretending to be tough guys

Oh yeah, and then I decided it would be a lot of fun inhale the helium and sing early 90’s pop hits…

The party alone was so fun that I’d consider throwing another one just for the good times, great company, and delicious food! Or, on another hand, maybe I should just throw an AFTER-marathon party to celebrate my crawl over the finish line?

Thanks again, everyone!

Days until the Boston Marathon: 36

Leave a comment